Skip to content

Scott Salver

Scott Salver is an annual playwriting competition for plays from Scotland.

Scott Salver Trophy

An annual competition for plays making their debut performance at a District Round of the Scottish One Act Play Festival. The winning author is presented with the Scott Salver at the Scottish Final of the One Act Play Festival.

The deadline for entries is 26th January 2024

Our aims

To encourage new playwriting
To encourage member clubs to perform original works

Enter a play

Enter a play using our online form or read more information about entering

Play criteria

The play must not have been performed or published anywhere prior to the District Festival.

It must not be less than 20 minutes and not more than 55 minutes playing time.

It must be entered for and be performed in the SCDA One Act Play Festival and have its first performance at a District Festival.

It must contain a minimum of two characters, appearing and speaking.

It must be submitted in A4 format, single-side printed in a clear typeface. Pages should be numbered. Scripts submitted on paper will not be returned.

You must provide a cast list, and a brief synopsis with the script contained in one document.

Competition rules


Plays will be judged on reading not performance. A panel of experienced SCDA members appointed by the Playwriting Committee independently assess submitted scripts under various criteria. Judges also award each play an order of merit and these are taken into consideration.


Copyright remains with the author.


On all matters relating to the Scott Salver Competition, the decision of the Playwriting Committee is final.


All entries should be submitted by the deadline. Scripts received after that date will not be eligible for the competition. Receipts will be acknowledged by email but if postal acknowledgement is required please send SAE.


All entries for the Scott Salver are kept in the SCDA National Library


Winning plays which are subsequently published must acknowledge the competition with ‘Winner of the SCDA Scott Salver Competition’.

Geoffrey Whitworth Competition

We encourage playwrights to enter the UK wide Geoffrey Whitworth Competition organised by the Association. The winner of this competition is announced at the British Final Festival and awarded the Geoffrey Whitworth Trophy.

Previous competition winners

View a list of our winning authors from as far back as 1971.