Skip to content

Geoffrey Whitworth

Geoffrey Whitworth

Geoffrey Whitworth is a UK wide playwriting competition.

Geoffrey Whitworth Competition

This annual UK wide competition is open to plays making their debut performance at a District Round of the One Act Play Festival anywhere in the UK.

The deadline for entries is 31st March2023

Enter a play

Enter a play using our online form or read more information about entering

Competition rules


Plays must be first performed in the preliminary round of the One-Act Festival.


Plays must not have been publicly performed or published prior to their first performance in the One-Act Festival.


If not submitted by the author, the author’s written permission must be obtained. Copyright of all plays entered will remain with the author.


All entries must be accompanied by a completed entry form.


Plays must be submitted in A4 format, single side printed in a clear typeface. Pages should be numbered. Scripts submitted on paper will not be returned.


The play must contain a brief synopsis and character list, included as part of the script.


All entries must be received by
SCDA by the deadline. Receipt will be acknowledged by email. If a postal acknowledgement is required, please send a SAE.


Plays are judged on reading not performance. The judge will independently assess the plays and feedback will be provided. The judge’s decision is final.


Winning plays which are subsequently published must contain the acknowledgement, ‘Winner of the Geoffrey Whitworth Competition’.

Geoffrey Whitworth

The trophy is awarded in memory of Geoffrey Whitworth (1883-1951). Geoffrey Whitworth was an English lecturer and author, who founded the British Drama League in 1919. This led to the founding of the annual One-Act Play Festivals throughout the UK that continue today. He encouraged original writing with the philosophy that writers would benefit from seeing their plays performed and adjudicated.